Blurry Haze

This shouldn’t be real life

Written by Melissa
2 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Photo by Enkhjin Ganbaatar on Unsplash

My eyes are so blurry this morning. My head is in a fog. Are my glasses dirty or is it my car windshield? I clean off both and the world still doesn't look right. I don't know what to do at this point.

This is not a great start to an otherwise uneventful morning. Sitting here waiting for my car to warm up wondering if I turned off the iron. I don't even think I ironed my clothes this morning, but did I lock the front door? I don't want to get out of this car, it's much too cold out there. I remember one turn, two, then three, four and five. I checked to make sure it was locked like always.

The car's still cold. I found my badge and now I'm searching for the phone that's in my hand. As I said, great start to the day.

I've driven down this same street for months on my way to work and that truck has always been parked in that same spot. Today I saw it pull off as I was approaching. Why does that concern me so much? It feels like a bad omen like something is seriously wrong with the world. I don't feel good about today.

Part of me says I'm overreacting, overreaching, and maybe suffering from delusions of grandeur. Still, there's another louder part of me that thinks the other part of me needs to stay the hell off of Google.

--

--