Late Night Hallucinations

Stronger than my illness

Written by Melissa
2 min readJan 10, 2024

--

Photo by Molly Blackbird on Unsplash

I keep so much inside
I dare not talk about the strange faces in the mirrors or figures peeking inside doors
I don’t burden anyone else with the shadow in the corner or the girl in the window
I refuse to mention the footsteps that still pace in the hall
There’s no point in investigating the rapidly twisting door handle

It's late and I'm still awake
That damn knocking won't let me rest
The shadow won't stop pacing
The footsteps are running at full speed in the hallway

Why must I be tortured

It won’t be long now
I see a padded room in my future
I see the loss of self and fear of life
I see pain and anguish
More importantly, I see that the figure is getting closer
It watches me as I write this
It tries to grab my attention but I refuse
I pretend that it’s not there
It isn’t there
Some part of me knows that it isn’t
Some part of me knows that it’s all in my head
Still, it’s breathing down my neck now
Reading these words over my shoulder
I am failing at ignoring and it knows

--

--